Listener Supported Public Media from Fordham University

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tunein
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • Syndicate content


Junip - FUV Live - 2013

by Russ Borris

The band Junip was originally formed in the late 90s by Swedish musicians Jose Gonzalez, Elias Araya and Tobias Winterkorn. They released their first EP, Straight Lines, in 2000, but then the members split off to pursue other interests: Elias studied art and Tobias worked as a teacher, while Jose continued making music and in fact launched a very succesful solo career. Jose released the critically-acclaimed albums, Veneer in 2005 and In Our Nature in 2007.

Junip reformed a few years ago though and released their full-length debut, Fields. The band is now on their self-titled sophomore release and dropped by WFUV to talk about the new record and perform some the new songs live in Studio A.

Junip - Words and Music - 2010

by Rita Houston
Jose Gonzalez met the other members of Junip in the Hardcore scene of Gothenburg, Sweden, but the music on their first LP 'Fields' is a lot more Iron & Wine than The Dead Kennedys. They stopped by FUV as a quintet to play some live music, during a conversation with host Rita Houston. [11/3/10]