Listener Supported Public Media from Fordham University

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tunein
  • YouTube
  • Flickr
  • Syndicate content


Musician Turns 9/11 Survivor Stories into Songs

by Associated Press

flickr, Wally Gobetz

A dozen years after 9/11, an American composer has turned memories of grief into survivor songs - some of them surprisingly joyous.

Composer Jake Heggie says Sunday his new album titled "Here/After (songs of lost voices)" is meant to create a sense of hope.

The singers on the album reflect the stories of actual 9/11 survivors from around the country. Their songs express thoughts about lost loved ones as they sort belongings left behind. One set of songs is called "Pieces of 9-11."

WFUV News and Public Affairs

From interviews with newsmakers to features about local issues, the WFUV News team keeps listeners informed about the Tri-State area. Learn more.
How are we doing? Take our WFUV News survey.