Skip to main content

UKNY For February 17

The Specials (photo by Josh Cheuse, PR)

The Specials (photo by Josh Cheuse, PR)


The Specials' Lynval Golding, Terry Hall and Horace Panter could not have picked a more relevant time to return with their new album, Encore, reflecting on the chaos of Brexit, Tory mishaps, the ugly tide towards nationalism, ongoing racist rhetoric, and American bedlam. While the band's lineup is still fractured—Jerry Dammers, Neville Staple, and Roddy "Radiation" Byers are not a part of Encore—the sound is undoubtedly that of one of the most influential bands of the '70s and early '80s. On UKNY at 11, one of the more personal tracks from this fine album, which soared to the very top of the British charts upon its release earlier this month.

Also, the witty Belgian-Martinquaise songwriter Charlotte Adigéry, west Yorkshire's bracing Working Men's Club, Brighton's retro-gazing Fur, and Glasgow's ever-romantic C. Duncan. And looking north from New York, the sprawling family of Canada's Broken Social Scene, back with a terrific EP, Let's Try the After Vol. 1, that sails on seas of lovely instrumentals and punchy pop gems.

Away for the long weekend? Catch up to UKNY on demand in the Weekend Archives.

Songs played:

1. The Specials, “The Life and Times (Of a Man Called Depression), Encore
2. (Ghent, BE) Charlotte Adigéry, “High Lights,” Zandoli EP
3. Squid, “The Dial (radio edit),” single
4. Working Men’s Club, “Bad Blood,” single
5. Josef K, “It’s Kind of Funny,” The Only Fun in Town
6. Kojey Radical (feat. KZ), “25,” single
7. Maps, “Just Reflecting,” Colours. Reflect. Time. Loss.
8. C Duncan, “Impossible,” Health
9. Badly Dawn Boy, “All Possibilities,” Have You Fed the Fish?
10. (Rochefort-du-Gard, FR) Le Superhomard, “Paper Girl,” single
11. Fur, “Him and Her,” Fur EP
12. (Toronto, CA) Broken Social Scene, “All I Want,” Let’s Try the After Vol.1, EP
13. The Howl & the Hum, “Portrait I,” single
14. Lucy Rose, “Solo(w),” No Words Left